Historic Brinton Lodge is a nonprofit historic site with an imagination. Unusual architecture, a legendary history, and centuries of visitors have made Brinton Lodge an eccentric and treasured landmark of Berks County.
Join us for a variety of offbeat events throughout the year, including holiday and community happenings, theater productions and music shows, history tours and ghost tours, classes and workshops, and more!
Proceeds from all events benefit the preservation and restoration of Historic Brinton Lodge.
Tours of Historic Brinton Lodge are available 7 days a week. Call 610-572-7121 to schedule your visit.
A craft brewery located inside Historic Brinton Lodge
Now open! Sourcing many ingredients from the fertile lands of southeastern PA, Hidden River Brewing Co. brews creative, fresh, and unusual small-batch beers that reflect the flavors of the local area. Visit the tasting room and choose from up to 12 selections of unique beers and enjoy the light menu of fresh and local foods from nearby farms. Your support of Hidden River Brewing Co. contributes to the preservation and restoration of Brinton Lodge. Visit their Facebook page for hours and menus.
Recognized as one of the top 10 real haunted sites in Pennsylvania, the Lodge has a well-documented history of ghostly activity attributed to at least five different spirits. Join us for Ghost Hunts of Brinton Lodge on select evenings throughout the year. Click here for schedule and tickets.
Nestled along a country road in Berks County, Pennsylvania, just west of Pottstown, Brinton Lodge has a storied history beginning in the 1700s. The original structure, now enveloped by the current building, was a small farmhouse built by the Millards, one of the area's earliest families who purchased the land from William Penn.
The site changed hands in 1796 to become the Kirlin homestead, whose livelihood included making ammunition for the War of 1812. Several years later, the Schuylkill River Canal ran through the property, and rumors circulated that the site was a stop on the Underground Railroad.
In the early 1900s, the Wittmans, a wealthy family with ties to the Philadelphia iron industry, purchased the property and lavishly expanded the farmhouse to an opulent 28 room mansion. When the site came under the ownership of Reading hotelier Caleb Brinton during Prohibition, it became an exclusive gentleman's club. As legend has it, Brinton hand-picked his guests, letting in only the rich and famous from near and far.
Until recently, the Lodge operated as Covatta's Brinton Lodge Restaurant.
The latest chapter of the Lodge's history is currently being written as we preserve and restore this historic landmark.
Copyright 2014 Historic Brinton Lodge. All Rights Reserved.